Tashkent, Uzbekistan

Tashkent, Uzbekistan

Tashkent – 2200 anniversary. Tashkent is a city of magnificent beauty, sunny and welcoming, the city of harmony of ancient architecture and modern urban planning. Tashkent has such epithets as “The City of Friendship”, “The City of Peace”, The City of Bread”. In 2007 it gained a new one – “The Capital of Islamic Culture”. In 2009, by  The  Decree  of UNESCO Tashkent celebrated its 2200-year anniversary. It is an important event, not only for Uzbekistan but for the whole world. During the years of Independence much attention was given to renaissance of national values and preservation of architectural monuments. Tashkent has made a huge contribution to development of world civilization.

City of Tashkent has the highest in the republic  economic and scientific-cultural potential.Tashkent is a political and economic center of the Republic of Uzbekistan. The Residence of the President of the Republic of Uzbekistan, the Legislative Chamber of Oliy Majlis, the Senate of Oliy Majlis, Cabinet of Ministers, foreign embassies, public organizations, as well as the main control of all ministries and departments of the Republic of Uzbekistan are located here.

Location of Tashkent

Tashkent is the capital and the largest city of the Republic of Uzbekistan which has a central location in Central Asia. The territory of the Republic – 447.5 km2. The population is about 25 millions of people. 10% of the whole population live in the capital – 2.5 millions. Here there are more than 100 nations and peoples of the world. Tashkent is situated in the branch of Western Tien Shan, at a height of 420-280 meters above sea level. The city is situated in the same latitude with Madrid, New-York and Beijing. The city lies in the middle course of the Chirchiq river valley, in a flat-hilled terrain and covers the territory of 320 km2.  

Climate in Tashkent 

The average climate in Uzbekistan is sharply continental with a short winter and a long hot summer. But the climate in Tashkent is milder due to its neighborhood to the mountains and a large number of canals and greens. The summer temperature is about +40 degrees, the winter temperature is about 0 degrees. March is the rainiest month of the year.

Demography of Tashkent

The resident population of Tashkent on 1 January 2008 amounted to 2.18 million people. Of these, 76% Uzbeks, 15% Russian, 5% Tatars, Kazakhs 1.6% and 2,4% other nationalities. Over one third of residents (33.5%) - less than 15 years, 61,7% - at the age of 15 to 64 years and 4,8% - from 65 years and older. Average age - 22.36 years. Middle life expectancy - 64.19 years. Experts note that even with the existing rates of natural increase by 2020 the population of Uzbekistan may reach 40 million people. Official language - Uzbek.

Architecture of Tashkent

Tashkent, UzbekistanOver  the 2200 years  history of its existence, the city survived both ups and downs, but always remained at the crossroads of international trade, and was a center of culture and art. Many histoical monuments  were preserved and restored such as mosques, mausoleums (one of the best - Mausoleum of Yunus Khan), madrassahs - Barak-Khan  and  Abdul Kasim-Eshon (XVI cent.), Scenic Jami Mosque (XVIc), Mirza-Yusuf (XIXc) and Hayrabat-Eshon (XVIII-XIXc). Functioning Kukeldash madrasah (XV c.) was recently renovated.  There are also Orthodox churches, nunnery, Polish church and some other temples. 

History of Tashkent

The exact time of founding of the city is unknown. For the first time, the area coinciding with the area of Tashkent is mentioned in the Chinese primary sources of II century BC under the name of Yuini. In the later sources the same area was called Zheshi, Chach, Shash or Shi. The sign corresponding to the last sound combination is used in the meaning of “stone” that often compares with a Turkic name tash «stone» + kend «settlement».
More...

Internet resources on Tashkent and Uzbekistan

Uzbekistan Tours - Private and guaranteed group tours in Uzbekistan

Tashkent - Sights of Interest

Туры в Узбекистан – Групповые и Индивидуальные Туры в Узбекистане

Ташкент, Узбекистан

Ташкент, УзбекистанТашкенту  - 2200  лет. Ташкент - город удивительной красоты, солнечный и гостеприимный, город гармонии древнего зодчества и современного стиля градостроительства. Ташкенту присущи такие эпитеты, как "Город Дружбы", "Город мира", "Город Хлеба". В 2007 году к ним добавился новый  - "Столица исламской культуры".  В  2009 году по Постановлению ЮНЕСКО прошло празднование 2200-летнего юбилея  Ташкента, и это знаменательное событие не только для Узбекистана, но и для всего мира. За годы независимости в стране большое значение уделялось возрождению национальных ценностей, сохранению архитектурных памятников. Ташкент внёс большой вклад в развитие мировой цивилизации.  

Город Ташкент обладает самим высоким в республике экономическим и научно-культурным потенциалом.Ташкент является политическим и экономически центром Республики Узбекистан. Здесь расположены резиденция Президента Республики Узбекистан, Законодательная палата Олий Мажлиса, Сенат Олий Мажлиса, Кабинет Министров, посольства иностранных государств, общественные организации, а также главные управления всех министерств и ведомств Республики Узбекистан.

Расположение Ташкента

Ташкент   столица и самый крупный город Республики Узбекистан, которая занимает серединное положение в Центральной Азии. Территория Республики - 447,5 тыс. км2. Ташкент располагается в отрогах Западного Тянь-Шаня на высоте 420-480 метров над уровнем моря. Он находится в северо-восточной части Узбекистана на одной широте с Мадридом, Нью-Йорком и Пекином. Город лежит в среднем течении долины реки Чирчик, на равнинно-холмистом рельефе и занимает территорию 320 км2.

Kлимат Ташкента

В целом по Узбекистану климат резко-континентальный с короткой зимой и долгим жарким летом, но в Ташкенте климат мягче за счет близости к горам и большого количества каналов и зелени. Летом температура достигает +40 С, зимой – около 0 С. Самый дождливый месяц – март.

Демография Ташкента

Численность постоянного населения Ташкента на 1 января 2008 составила 2,18 млн человек . Из них 76 % узбеки, 15 % русские, 5 % татары, 1,6 % казахи и 2,4 % другие национальности. Свыше трети жителей (33,5%) – моложе 15 лет; 61,7% – в возрасте от 15 до 64 лет и 4,8% – от 65 лет и старше. Средний возраст – 22,36 лет.Средняя продолжительность жизни – 64,19 лет. По международной классификации демографы относят Узбекистан к категории стран с молодым населением, учитывая половозрастную структуру и величину среднего возраста населения. Специалисты отмечают, что даже при сохранении имеющихся показателей естественного прироста к 2020 году численность населения Узбекистана может достигнуть 40 млн человек. Государственный язык - узбекский.

Архитектура Ташкента

Ташкент, УзбекистанЗа 2200-летие  своего существования город перенёс как взлёты, так и падения, но всегда оставался на пересечении путей международной торговли, а также был центром культуры и искусства. Сохранилось множество мечетей, мавзолеев (один из лучших - Мавзолей Юнус-Хана), минаретов, есть действующие медресе Кукельдаш (XV в., недавно было отреставрировано), медресе Барак-Хана и медресе Абдул-Касым-Эшон (XVI в.), живописные мечети Джами (XVI в.), Мирза-Юсуф (XIX в.) и Хайрабат-Эшон (XVIII-XIX в.). Есть также православные храмы, женский монастырь, церкви, в том числе даже польский костел, поскольку Ташкент отличется национальным разнообразием и веротерпимостью.

История Ташкента

Точное время основания города неизвестно. Впервые, область, совпадающая по расположению с районом Ташкента упоминается в китайских источниках II в. до н.э. под названием Юйни. В более поздних источниках эта же область называется Чжэши, Чач, Шаш или Ши. Соответствующий последнему звуковому сочетанию знак употребляется в значении «камень», что часто сопоставляют с более тюркским названием таш «камень» + кенд «селение».
Далее...

Интернет ресурсы по Ташкенту и Узбекистану

Туры в Узбекистан - Индивидуальные туры по Узбекистану

 

Достопримечательности Ташкента