Tashkent History

The exact time of founding of the city is unknown. For the first time, the area coinciding with the area of Tashkent is mentioned in the Chinese primary sources of II century BC under the name of Yuini. In the later sources the same area was called Zheshi, Chach, Shash or Shi. The sign corresponding to the last sound combination is used in the meaning of “stone” that often compares with a Turkic name tash «stone» + kend «settlement». It is necessary to notice, that for the first time the name of Tashkent was mentioned only in XI century.

The first urban settlement in this area has sprung up in IV-V c. B.C. During this period Tashkent is mentioned in primary sources as the city of Chach (Shash). Also, a number of implements were found in the territory of this ancient settlement. The sets of bronze mirrors and coins of states of the beginning of the new era were also found in the burial mounds near Tashkent.

In the IV century Chach region merges in the newly created Turkic Kaganate. The Kaganate had its borders stretched till Korean kingdom named Koguryo in the East and till Azov and Black Sea in the West. In the VII century Kaganate had been having domestic troubles by the reason of power struggle between a number of political groups. This made the Kaganate break into separate territories. 

In the beginning of VIII century Chach was conquered by Arabs. In VIII-IX centuries it had the name of Binkent as the center of independent state named Chach (Shash). According to the calculations which were made by Arabian scientists, the location of Binkent aligned with the location of Tashkent.

In IX-X centuries the city becomes a part of the state of Samanids, since the end of X and the beginning of XIII centuries it is a part of the state of Karakhanids and Karachinese. In the beginning of XIII century Tashkent was conquered by Muhammed Ala-ad-din the shah of Khorezm. In 1214 on an order of the shah the city was destroyed and the habitants were resettled to another place.

In XIV century Tashkent was conquered by Timur (Tamerlan) and was made into one of the biggest fortresses of the state of Timurids. In the latter half of XVI century Tashkent had joined to Khanate of Bukhara. In XVII-XVIII cc. had been conquering by Kazakhs and Kalmyks. In 1809 it became a part of Khanate of Kokand and by the middle of XIX century became one of the largest centers of trade with Russian merchants.

June 15, 1865, the city of Tashkent was conquered by Russian troops under the command of general Chernyaev. In the end of XIX century Tashkent had achieved a big prosperity as the centre of Syrdarya region and Turkestan Governorate General. Near the old “Arabian” part of the city there had been built a new one - “Russian” city as a residence of the Governor. So, the urban life, in its European way of saying, was only in the “Russian” part where there were a lot of government departments, schools, scientific associations, etc.

After the revolution was end Tashkent became a part of Turkestan ASSR. In 1924, Samarkand became a capital of Uzbek SSR, but in 1930 Tashkent redeemed its capital name. During the Great Patriotic War the city of Tashkent became one of the main evacuation centers in the Soviet Union. In this time a large number of industrial enterprises, educational establishments, theatres, motion-picture studios (such as “Mosfilm” and “Lenfilm”) had been evacuated here from the west regions of the USSR.

The earthquake of 1966 became the largest shock for a postwar Tashkent. A large number of residence buildings, government departments and industrial enterprises had been destroyed in the result of the earthquake. According to some reports about 300.000 people were left without a roof over the head. The results of the earthquake had been eliminated during a few following years with the participation of all Soviet countries.

Since September 1991 and now Tashkent is the capital of the independent Republic of Uzbekistan and the centre of Tashkent region.

Silk Road - Historical information on the ancient silk route

История Ташкента

Старый ТашкентТочное время основания города неизвестно. Впервые, область, совпадающая по расположению с районом Ташкента упоминается в китайских источниках II в. до н.э. под названием Юйни. В более поздних источниках эта же область называется Чжэши, Чач, Шаш или Ши. Соответствующий последнему звуковому сочетанию знак употребляется в значении «камень», что часто сопоставляют с более тюркским названием таш «камень» + кенд «селение».
Стоит отметить, что впервые название Ташкент упоминается в лишь в XI в.

Первое городское поселение возникло в этом районе в IV-V вв. н. э. Именнно на данном этапе Ташкент упоминается в исторических источниках под названием Чач (Шаш). На территории городища того времени были найдены предметы каменного века. В погребальных курганах на территории Ташкента обнаружены бронзовые зеркала, монеты различных стран первых веков до н. э.

В VI в. область Чач входит в состав новообразованного Тюркского каганата восточные границы доходили до Корейского царства Когурё, а западные до Азовского и Черного морей. В VII в. каганат начинает испытывать внутриполитические проблемы, ввиду борьбы за власть между различными политическими группировками, что и привело к его распаду на независимые мелкие владения.

В начале VIII в. Чач был завоёван арабами. И в VIII-IX вв, город, будучи центром самостоятельного владения Чач (Шаш), носит название Бинкент. Согласно расследованиям, приводимым арабскими учеными, местоположение Бинкента примерно соответствовало расположению Ташкента.

В IX-X вв. город входит в состав государства Саманидов, с конца X до начала XIII вв. - в государство Караханидов и государство каракитаев.
В начале XIII в. Ташкент занял шах Хорезма Мухаммед I, по приказу которого в 1214 г. город был разрушен, а жители переселены.
В XIV в. Ташкент был завоеван Тимуром (Тамерланом) и превращен в одну из крупных крепостей государства Тимуридов.
Во II-й половине XVIв. присоединен к Бухарскому  ханству.
В 1809г. вошел в состав Кокандского ханства в середине XIXв. вырос в крупнейший центр по торговле с Россией.

15 июня 1865 г. Ташкент был завоеван русскими войсками под командованием генерала Черняева. В конце XIX в. Ташкент, будучи центром Сырдарьинской области и Туркестанского генерал-губернаторства, достиг значительного процветания. Рядом со старой «арабской» частью города, в качестве резиденции властей, был возведен новый «русский» город. Соответственно, городская жизнь, в европейском понимании слова, велась лишь в русской части: там находились правительственные учреждения, школы, научные объединения.
После Революции Ташкент был объявлен столицей Туркестана.

В 1924 г. столицей Узбекской ССР объявляется Самарканд, но Ташкент вновь обретает этот статус в 1930 г. В годы Великой Отечественной Войны город становится одним из основных центров эвакуации. В это время из Западных районов Советского Союза в Ташкент были эвакуированы промышленные предприятия, учебные заведения, театры и киностудии («Мосфильм», «Ленфильм»).

Современный ТашкентСамым большим потрясением для послевоенного Ташкента стало землетрясение 1966 года, в результате которого были повреждены многие жилые дома, правительственные учреждения и промышленные предприятия. По некоторым данным без крова осталось около 300 тысяч человек. При участии всех Союзных республик последствия этого землетрясения удалось ликвидировать всего за несколько лет.

С сентября 1991 г. И по сей день Ташкент является столицей независмого Узбекистана и центром Ташкентской области.