Tashkent Hotels

Museum of Applied Arts of Uzbekistan

It all started with the fact that in 1927 an exhibition of samples of the best works of masters of Uzbekistan was organized in Tashkent. Every year the number of exhibits accumulated, and there were more products from past centuries: jewelry, handmade embroidery, skullcaps, carpets. These works of folk applied art began to be displayed in the “Museum of Handicrafts”, opened on July 7, 1937 in Tashkent.

In 1960, it received the name “Permanent Exhibition of Applied Arts of Uzbekistan”, and in 1997 the exhibition acquired the status of the “State Museum of Applied Arts”, which came under the jurisdiction of the Ministry of Cultural Affairs of the Republic of Uzbekistan.

The museum's treasuries contain unique exhibits of applied art - created by the hands of masters - from the first half of the 19th century to the present day. Artistically, the exhibits stored in the museum’s treasuries can be divided into 3 groups: works of applied art created on the basis of ancient traditions; works enriched with artistic ornaments, created taking into account the traditional methods of folk craftsmen, and the third group - works of modern art, decorated with multi-colored ornaments.

The museum has several shops where you will find a wide range of handicrafts.